Today was a craft day in the house . . . Zae and I dyed some Knit Picks Bare yarn that I bought myself last fall.  I have wanted to try dying for a while, so I bought this yarn for myself in my Christmas Knitting order and a reward for getting it all done!  I just haven’t done anything with it.  I got my invite to join Ravelry earlier this week (OH MY GOSH WAY TOO COOL FOR WORDS!) and was putting my stash in over the weekend.  When I came to the Bare I thought “well, that is just sad, we will have to do something about that.”

bare Bare

This morning, Zae looked at me with those HUGE brown (almost black) eyes and asked, “Mom, what are we going to do today.”  So I came up with doing the Kool-Aid dye thing.  We went to the dollar store and got a bunch of those picnic condiment dispensers and the grocery store to get kool-aid.  The Knitty website gives the ratio 1 oz fiber to 1 oz kool-aid.  There isn’t much powder in a packet . . . so I used a lot of them.  If you are thinking about doing this . . . use the Knitty article . . . really easy!

   dye-with-zae-003.jpgdye-with-zae-004.jpgdye-with-zae-005.jpg

Zae and I had a great time squirting the dye on the yarn.  He was pretty set on having a pattern (that is his dad in him!).  He didn’t want to put dye on the first one, he was afraid he would mess it up, so he told me where to put the dye and I did his bidding (nothing new there!).  On the second one, we put the pattern on the yarn, and then he was comfortable enough to fill in the spaces with the dye. 

ready to go in the sun

There are three options for setting the dye.  I picked the easy one (so I could still watch Days of Our Lives . . . one must have standards- I have been an adict since I was 8- my granma was my babysitter- and it was on EVERY DAY!).  Stuck each skein in a plastic zip-bag and stuck them in the sun (like you would sun tea).  I then told Zae that the yarn had to sit in the sun until after his nap (about 2 ½ hours, until the water coming out of the yarn is clear).  I flipped the bags half way through the time, but I don’t think I needed to.

the yarn gets a tansweating in the sun!

A few hours later, we brought the yarn in the house to cool down out of the sun.  Many of the websites I checked made a HUGE deal about not shocking the yarn with cold water as it could cause felting.  They all seemed to recommend cooling the yarn and then rinsing with water the same temp as the yarn.

dye-with-zae-010.jpgdye-with-zae-011.jpg

I had expected to have much brighter colors, but I like it.  The plan is a bag for me.  I have 220 yards, which is enough for a Sophia purse (this is SUCH a fun pattern) .  I am also thinking about free forming a small bag to keep my Weight Watchers books and tracker in.  I use the bight blue starter kit bag right now, but it isn’t really me.  We will see what I think of.  Maybe a smaller Button-hole Bag?

 

I swear, I used the same dye on each skein . . . really I did!  Both have a similar purple color, I think I will start with the not so orange one, then when I need a second skein, try to start with the purple on the orange.  Not bad for a first time, if I do say so myself!

 

I am not sure if I will carry a purse this colorful in my real world.   However, there is something really cool about having something that Zae and I created together.

