I didn’t post on Friday, because my grandfather passed away.  I hope you will bare with me- but tonight, I would like to tell you a bit about him.

grandpa-3-18-06.jpg

Grandpa Dink (his real name was Carl, but I heard very few people in my life ever call him anything but Dinky) was born and raised in my hometown.  To the best of my knowledge, the only time in his life he ever lived outside our town were his years in the Navy.  He recieved a Purple Heart in World War II as a Navy Corpsmen attatched to the Marines.  I have known my whole life about his time in the Navy.  He was so proud to have served his country, but I didn’t know about the Purple Heart until a few years ago, he never told me.  Grandma said it and I had NO idea.  I think it says a great deal about a man who will talk openly about his time in the service, but does not mention his awards, becasue the service was more important to him than being noticed.

Upon returning from the war, he and my Grandmother married. . . 60 years ago this past summer!  60 years! My husband and I are coming up on 8, and there are days that seems like forever.  60 years is a lifetime.  From watching my Grandparents, I have learned what love and life together should be.  It is not always perfect, but it is always together.  I hope they know the example they are to all of us.  In an age of “disposable relationships,” they are a shining example of what marriage can and should be if everyone is willing to do the work.

Together, they had 3 childern, 2 boys and a girl.  My father is the oldest.  My uncle lives basically at the other end of my street.  My father lives 2 or 3 miles father “downtown”.  My aunt lives about 3 whole towns away.  We have roots in this town that run deeper than we can even guess. These roots come from Dinky.  When I was a High School kid in town (I went to the same High School as my Grandparents and my Dad!).  I would walk downtown, and people would stop me  and ask “Are you realted to Dink?”  I was always proud to say yes!  Everyone seemed to know and love my grandfather.

There are six of us grandkids, 3 girls, 3 boys.  We range in age from High School Teacher to High School Student and everything in the middle.  I know I speak for all of us when I say that we could not have asked for a more wonderful, loving Grandfather. 

When my folks split up, I was 8.  My grandfather had retired and he served as a part of my childcare system.  Grandpa was a wonderful care giver, always willing to sneak us ice cream!  I remember falling pretty bad at his house, he gathered me up, took me in the house and told me jokes as he carefully picked the gravel and rocks out of my knee.  So few folks in my generation grew up close to any grandparent.  We were so lucky to be close to ours, especially Grandpa.

Grandpa battled cancer for about 10 years.  The last few years have not been the best with health.  But Grandpa loved life.  He wasn’t done yet.  This last year had been the worst.  He came home from the hospital in May of last year.  He passed away at home.

We love him and miss him very much. 

We are joyed at knowing that he is no longer in pain. 

We rejoice that he has gone home.

In the words of a song he liked to sing:

“Nights are long, since you went away,

I dream about you all through the day,

My Buddy, My Buddy,

Your Buddy misses you . . . “ 

