No, I have not suffered a tragedy and forgotten how to knit . . . this is a part of my Christmas present

dan-knit-1.jpg

From Sweetie!

Each year, my son and I make soap for his teachers.  I knit washcloths, Zae makes soap.  This year, Sweetie was around on Saturday and was having a rough day.  Zae asked if Daddy would come play with the soap, cause it would make him feel better.  How could Sweetie say no to that (Sweetie is NOT by nature a crafty person, he is a musician that is where he lets out his creativity).  Sweetie had a great time making soap, and made a bar just for me.  I was totally kidding when I said that I needed a washcloth to go with it.  He said OK!

Last night he got a lesson.  He is doing the simple dishcloth pattern (often called Grandma’s Dishcloth . . . I couldn’t find the pattern anywhere today!).  It is pretty simple, all garter stitch with a Yarn Over after the first 2 stitches on each row.  When he has 44 stitches, I will teach him to Knit 2 together.  He took too it pretty well!  He is worried that the stitches are too loose (I have him size 10s to work with, ‘cause they feel like pencils-his words).  The loose is the needles mostly.  I keep telling him that once it is washed and dried the yarn will fix itself.

 

dan-knit-2.jpg

I don’t think he believes in the magic of the yarn yet . . . we shall fix him!

I don’t think he will become addicted . . . but he did say he could see the attraction.  I’m not too worried though . . . I know my yarn will never come before his guitars!

Isn’t this going to be the best present EVER!!

